Tampa Personal Injury FAQ
When you have suffered a serious injury in an accident, you will likely be looking into what your options are for ensuring the liable party compensates you for the damage they have caused. In most cases, pursuing a personal injury claim will be the best way to make the most out of your situation.
However, when you are looking online to find out what your next steps should be, there is often false, misleading, or simply irrelevant information that doesn’t answer the questions you have.
For this reason, below we have addressed some of the most pertinent Tampa personal injury questions our clients have had. Any additional concerns or questions you might have can be answered when you come in for your free consultation with one of our Florida attorneys.
Can I settle my injury case without going to court?
It is certainly possible to settle your case outside of court, especially when we are dealing with an insurance company. But it is important to note that the insurer is probably not going to be willing to provide you with the compensation you deserve.
We can negotiate until we reach a fair and reasonable settlement, but your chances of obtaining maximum repayment are typically greater when your case is heard by a judge and jury.
What is comparative fault, and how does it affect my accident case?
Comparative negligence is a state law that allows injury victims who are partly to blame for causing an accident to seek compensation from the party who is primarily at fault. You’ll accept responsibility for your own negligence by having your award reduced by the amount of fault the judge places on you.
Here’s an example: The judge finds you to be 5 percent liable for your motorcycle crash since you weren’t wearing a helmet. The jury awards you $400,000 for your damages, and your settlement is subsequently reduced by 5 percent, resulting in a final award of $380,000.
How long do I have to decide if I want to pursue a personal injury claim in Tampa?
The amount of time you’ll have to file your claim in court is known as the statute of limitations. Florida has one of the longest deadlines in the country, allowing a maximum of four years from the date you were injured to take legal action against the person or persons who are responsible for causing your injuries.
This time limit is important, as an expired statute of limitations will most certainly result in your case being barred by the Florida court system.
Consult with a Personal Injury Attorney in Tampa
If you are thinking about pursuing civil action to recover full repayment of your losses, get help from a Tampa personal injury lawyer at Anderson & Anderson today. You can schedule your free claim review as soon as you give our office a call at 813-251-0072 or fill out the quick contact form below.
- Personal Injury
- Car Accidents
- Truck Accidents
- Motorcycle Accidents
- Broken Bones
- Bus Accidents
- Construction Accidents
- Defective Products
- Dog Bites
- Medical Malpractice
- Nursing Home Abuse
- Premises Liability
- Product Liability
- Sexual Abuse
- Wrongful Death
- Work Injuries