Tampa Hit and Run Accidents
Under Florida state law, if you are involved in a car accident, you must stop, even if there is just property damage. If the accident resulted in injury or death, you have a duty to provide medical assistance. You must provide the other parties involved with pertinent information, such as your name, address, driver’s license, and car registration information.
If you fail to do these things, you could be charged with hit and run, or leaving the scene of an accident. A hit and run offense in Florida may be a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances. For example, when only property damage is involved, the charge is typically a second-degree misdemeanor. Penalties may include 60 days in county jail as well as a $500 fine.
When the accident has caused injury, the charge is a third-degree felony. Penalties may include up to five years in prison and $5,000 in fines. When the crash has resulted in death, it is considered a first-degree felony. The penalties include a maximum sentence of 30 years in prison as well as a fine of $10,000.
Do’s and Don’ts of Hit and Run Accidents
Here are some things you should and should not do after a hit and run accident:
Do not follow the fleeing driver. Once you do, you end up leaving the accident scene as well, and police could place the blame on you. Plus, you don’t know the state of mind of the other driver and could end up in another accident.
Do not wait to file a report or claim. Call the police right away to file a report. Call your insurance company to file an accident claim. The police report will help law enforcement officials locate the hit and run driver, and this will help your accident claim.
Do call 911 if someone is injured. Quick medical attention will increase their chances of survival. Plus, if you are injured, you’ll want to have medical records to prove it.
Do gather as much information as possible. If you have anything to help police locate the other driver, be sure to share it. Information about the other vehicle’s make, model and color, license plate number, photos of description of damage, the direction the other vehicle was headed, and the location, date, and time of the crash can all be helpful in helping police find the hit and run driver.
Contact Us Today
Drivers must always stop at an accident scene after they are involved in a crash. Those who don’t can face legal issues.
Hit and run accidents often lead to serious injuries and death for victims. If you or a loved one has been a victim, seek legal help right away from the Tampa personal injury lawyers at Anderson & Anderson. We can determine liability and help you locate the hit and run driver so you can obtain compensation. Schedule a free consultation with our office today. Call 813-251-0072 or fill out the online form.