Tampa Uninsured Motorist Lawyer
Owning a vehicle can be expensive. Not only are there monthly car payments, but also gas, maintenance, registration, and insurance. While insurance is a requirement, not all drivers purchase it.
In fact, Florida has the highest rate of uninsured motorists, at 26.7%. This means more than 1 in 4 drivers do not meet the minimum insurance requirements. However, without insurance, you cannot register your vehicle in the state. Plus, if you are caught driving without insurance, your driver’s license may be suspended for up to three years. You can also be fined up to $500.
What Is Uninsured Motorist Coverage?
When you’re hurt by another driver, your first thought may be to work with the insurance company. That’s why you pay for your insurance coverage every month, right? But the other driver may not have been so responsible. They may be underinsured, or they may have no insurance coverage at all.
These situations can make it more difficult to get the funds you need for your recovery. Because of this, you may need to turn to a lawyer at Anderson & Anderson for guidance. A Tampa uninsured motorist accident lawyer can help you take the right steps, even if the at-fault party is uninsured.
Insurance Coverage After a Car Accident
First, remember that Florida is a no-fault state for car accidents. That means your insurance policy should cover your suffering and expenses, or damages, regardless of who’s at fault. In some cases, you may not have to worry about their insurance policy.
But it’s not always your insurance company that pays for the damages done. For example, you may have suffered a serious injury, and your insurance company may not cover the full costs of your injuries. Because of this, you may need to file a lawsuit against the at-fault party, which may not have the funds. So who will cover the bill for your car accident damages?
How Uninsured Motorist Coverage Can Help You
Uninsured motorist coverage may not be required in Florida, but if you didn’t opt out of it when selecting your insurance coverage, it can protect you from expenses that could impact your future. Uninsured motorist coverage offers some coverage when the at-fault party is unable to pay for your expenses.
Getting compensation through this coverage can still be tough, unfortunately. Your insurance company is focused on making a profit, which means the adjuster may try to minimize your claim in bad faith. Luckily, your lawyer can work with you to get the top compensation possible for your claim. Once you have the compensation you need, you can focus on your health, not just on your finances.
Florida Insurance Requirements
Under Florida law, those who own a vehicle with at least four wheels must have $10,000 of personal injury protection (PIP) insurance as well as $10,000 of property damage liability insurance. Those are the minimum requirements and drivers can opt for more coverage if they desire. Florida is the only state that doesn’t require bodily injury liability insurance.
What Happens if I am Hit by an Uninsured Motorist?
If you are hit by an uninsured motorist, you may wonder what options you have. You should be able to recover compensation by doing one of the following:
- Use your PIP insurance. Florida requires drivers to have personal injury protection (PIP), which pays for your medical bills, regardless of fault (up to $10,000). You must use it within 14 days after the accident. PIP pays 80% of medical expenses and 60% of lost wages. It also offers $5,000 in death benefits. PIP covers you, your household, and anyone who is allowed to drive your vehicle.
- Use your uninsured motorist insurance. While uninsured motorist insurance is not required in Florida, it’s good to have, given the high rate of uninsured motorists in the state. If you have this coverage, your insurance company will pay for medical bills and other expenses. Uninsured motorist insurance can also be used for hit and run accidents, when the driver cannot be located.
- File a lawsuit. If you don’t have uninsured motorist insurance or have too many expenses, suing the driver may be your only option. A lawsuit can reimburse you for medical bills, lost wages, and other damages you suffered in the accident. However, keep in mind that if a driver cannot afford auto insurance, then they likely have few assets. Getting them to pay up won’t be easy.
Contact Us Today
While auto insurance is required in Florida and almost all other states, many drivers fail to purchase it. One big reason is the cost, and while insurance premiums can be pricey, they offer protection in the event of a crash. If you have been injured by an uninsured motorist, seek legal help right away. The Tampa uninsured motorist accident lawyers at Anderson & Anderson can help you understand your legal options.
Get the compensation you need for your damages. Fill out the online form or call 813-251-0072 to schedule a free consultation today.