Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Tampa Auto Accident Lawyers > Tampa Hit & Run Accident Lawyer

Tampa Hit & Run Accident Lawyer

It may surprise you to learn that roughly 1-in-4 auto accidents in Florida are considered hit and runs. This is based on official statistics compiled by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. These same figures show there were over 104,000 hit and run accidents in Florida just in 2023.

Even with Florida’s “no-fault” insurance system for auto accidents, a hit and run can still present a number of challenges when it comes to obtaining compensation for your injuries. The Tampa hit & run accident lawyer at Anderson & Anderson can advise you following a crash and take action on your behalf to assert your rights under the law.

Why Do Hit & Runs Occur–and What Can Be Done About Them

Following any auto accident where there appears to be personal injury or property damage, Florida law mandates that all involved drivers stop and exchange basic information at the scene. Failure to do so by leaving the scene is a criminal offense. Indeed, if someone has been killed or seriously injured in a car accident, the state can charge the driver who flees with a felony.

Unfortunately, many drivers still hit-and-run despite the potential legal consequences. There are a few reasons for this. The driver may lack liability insurance. They may have been driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. They may even have an outstanding warrant for their arrest for some unrelated criminal charge. In any case, the hit-and-run driver may simply not wish to deal with the police at the accident scene.

So what do you do if you have been injured by a hit-and-run driver who is never found? The first thing to remember is that you are still covered by your own auto insurance policy’s personal injury protection (PIP). Since PIP benefits are no-fault, it does not matter if the hit-and-run driver is ever found or has their own insurance. That said, PIP coverage will not pay for 100 percent of your losses. Under Florida law, your policy usually covers just 80 percent of your medical expenses (up to the policy limit_ and 60 percent of your lost wages and income.

Normally, you can sue a negligent driver if you sustained a “serious injury” as defined by Florida’s no-fault law. This also covers situations where someone is killed. If you elected to purchase uninsured or underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage with your auto policy, then your insurer may be liable for any damages caused by a hit-and-run driver.

Contact Anderson & Anderson Today

Whether you are looking to collect from your own insurance company or potentially file a lawsuit with a hit-and-run driver who has been identified, it is critical that you seek out competent legal advice. The Tampa hit and run accident lawyers at Anderson & Anderson can guide you through the process of filing an insurance claim, and if necessary a personal injury lawsuit to vindicate your right to compensation. Call us today at 813-251-0072 or contact us online to schedule an initial consultation.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn