Florida Auto Accident Laws
Auto accident and personal injury laws differ from state to state. If you are a Florida resident, or you have been in an accident in Florida, our firm fully understands the law and can help you with your case. Here are some examples of Florida laws governing auto accidents, personal injury and automobile insurance.
Florida personal injury statute of limitations: All claims are governed by a statute of limitations. Generally, anyone injured in a car accident has four years from the date of the injury to file a lawsuit or resolve their claim in the state of Florida. However, lawsuits regarding wrongful death must be filed within two years of the date of the car accident. Your case may be different so legal advice is always important.
Florida car insurance requirements and limits: By Florida law, minimum insurance coverage is $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 in property damage liability. Bodily injury liability coverage is not required of most motorists. It is very important for you to buy uninsured motorist coverage to protect you and your family and passengers in your car. We are always pleased to explain the importance of this coverage.
Florida no-fault coverage: Basic no-fault insurance coverage may provide $10,000 in PIP that pays doctor bills and lost wages without regard to fault. This coverage does not pay 100 percent of doctor bills or lost wages. Under some circumstances, the coverage can be reduced to $2,500 or nothing if you don’t seek the appropriate medical attention within 14 days.
Florida no-fault threshold: In exchange for the PIP benefit, there are significant restrictions on an injured person receiving compensation for pain, suffering or loss of enjoyment of life. Florida’s no-fault law is complex and requires legal advice.
Comparative negligence: At trial, a jury determines the percentage of fault of anyone who may be liable for an accident. The fault must equal 100 percent. An injured person’s damages are reduced by their own percentage of fault. The rule can be complex, which is why legal advice is important.
Filing personal injury lawsuits in Florida: Florida residents who would like to file a lawsuit following a car accident have a number of options regarding how to do so. The circuit court will be located where the accident happened or where the person you are filing the lawsuit against lives, that is called venue.
If you’ve been in a car accident and are looking for additional information about the laws and issues surrounding your situation, contact our Tampa auto accident attorneys for helpful legal advice and guidance.
For more information or if you have been involved in a car or truck accident, our automobile accident law firm can help. Contact the injury law firm of Anderson & Anderson, or call 813-251-0072 for a free case evaluation.
- Personal Injury
- Car Accidents
- Truck Accidents
- Motorcycle Accidents
- Broken Bones
- Bus Accidents
- Construction Accidents
- Dog Bites
- Medical Malpractice
- Nursing Home Abuse
- Premises Liability
- Product Liability
- Sexual Abuse
- Wrongful Death
- Work Injuries